Unit testing wamp pub/sub applications

I am new to autobahn and have some questions around unit testing strategies for a wamp based application that will include the following components:

1. An Autobahn Wamp server
  2. Multiple python clients that are from remote systems that connect to the server and send remote updates.
  3. Web clients that are used to see the real time data changes.
    I am trying to figure out the best strategy to unit test these different components. I will be using pub/sub and rpc in different places. Any input from the gurus here would be really appreciated.

thanks,

Vijay

0 Likes

I am new to autobahn and have some questions around unit testing
strategies for a wamp based application that will include the following

Important question!

components:

2. Multiple python clients that are from remote systems that connect to
    the server and send remote updates.

I am trying to figure out the best strategy to unit test these different
components. I will be using pub/sub and rpc in different places. Any
input from the gurus here would be really appreciated.

It's a broad topic and there are different approaches .. some thoughts ..

Unit Testing

···

Am 10.09.2013 15:47, schrieb Vijay shan:
------------

(where "unit" are the smallest testable parts of an application):

For example, take your JS/HTML frontend code. The JS will probably do a WAMP subscribe on certain topics, and upon receiving events on those topics should execute certain code / perform certain (frontend) actions.

A unit test for the frontend could generate and inject a synthetic WAMP event and check that this triggers the desired actions in the frontend.

The unit test would be written completely in JS. For "injecting" events, there are 2 approaches:

1)
function myTopic1Handler(topic, event) {
  // your stuff that is tested
}

session.subscribe("http://mytopic1 ...", myTopic1Handler);

=> Have the unit test call myTopic1Handler directly.

2)