Horizontally Scaling Cloned 'Unique' Workers

Hi all,

I am developing an architecture in which I have a ‘master’ worker which is always running and maintains a list of ‘children’ workers of which it controls. These children workers have unique ID’s and I need the ability to make calls into specific children workers that share the same source base. My initial idea was to register the methods under the same URI and use the CallOptions (https://github.com/crossbario/autobahn-python/blob/master/autobahn/wamp/types.py#L698) but this does not provide the same ‘eligible’ option as PublishOptions (https://github.com/crossbario/autobahn-python/blob/master/autobahn/wamp/types.py#L484). I cannot seem to use pub/sub for this as I will not receive a response on the same topic.

One option appears to be to use unique URI’s for the register/call pairs, but this on the face of it seems like a poor choice and complicates the registration process (Especially when using decorators).

What would be a good pattern here to achieve the ability to ‘call’ into specific crossbario containers?

Thanks!

-Vetsin

0 Likes

Hi, I’m doing something that sounds sort of similar, so I don’t know if this helps …

I have a bunch of containers that connect to crossbar using round-robin scheduling, but I essentially need “sticky” sessions, so once a client has connected to a specific instance, it needs to keep communicating with that specific instance. The method I’ve settled on is to have each container register on two topics, one (for example); “com.example.generic” and the other is “com.example.(n)” where where (n) is a unique identifier issued to each container.

So on the first request, the topic is set to “com.example.generic” and the call is load-balanced over say three containers and serviced by container # 2.