General question on Component programming practice

Dear all!

First, I am rather new to autobahn/crossbar, so when I missed a link or description I appreciate your forbearance. :slight_smile:

I have a scientific instrument which exposes a Python API for handling commands, parameter setting/retrival, events and the like.

I want to control this machine from another computer. While searching on how to accomplish this I came across autobahn and crossbar.io.
For using these I understood, that I can run a crossbar router on the/a (remote) computer and on the instrument’s PC prepare autobahn scripts that register procedures (and event handling) at the router and once they are running are listening and answering.

The controlling instance also communicates with the router via autobahn scripts to reach the instrument’s PC by RPC. So far so good.

In the examples I have seen so far, the control script instantiates a component class, runs it to accomplish the specific task and then leaves the session again. In my understanding running the same task again, will require the same “overhead” as in the first run.

That’s now my question. Is this the way to go when using autobahn? Or are there other practices which e.g. keep the session alive and just trigger a registered procedure, say by some callback, which than presumably would save some time/resources?

Thanks a lot in advance for your replies and best wishes
Markus

I think you almost got it;)

in your scenario, the measurement instrument should be wrapped by the Autobahn based client component, and thought of as just another microservice in the realm (the client joins on the router it connects to).

A Web UI (eg using AutobahnJS) on the same realm is another microservice - simply one where a human happens to sit in front (and produces/consumes “I/O” … keyboard, mouse, monitor).