arduino communication problems

Hi,

I am trying to do a fairly basic communication between an arduino and a websocket and client. I am sorry for any completely obvious errors or misunderstandings, I am pretty new to this.

I have used and slightly modified the example given on https://github.com/tavendo/AutobahnPython/tree/master/examples/wamp/serial2ws

My code is supposed to send a simple command from a python client to make the arduino blink 5 times. I think I am having an issue with the communication between the server and the arduino as the command seems to be called properly by the client but no blinking or response is given by the arduino.

I am also unsure exactly of how pubsub is supposed to work. Once I my client has subscribed to a topic, will it automatically receive any messages sent to that topic?

It is important to me for another project that I can receive data sent by the arduino to a python client.

All the code is attached. I am using a Ubuntu virutal unix machine.

Thanks so much for any help.

Dan D

serialclient2.py (2.43 KB)

serialserver_dan.py (4.35 KB)

blinkpython.ino (621 Bytes)

0 Likes

Hi,
I am trying to do a fairly basic communication between an arduino and a
websocket and client. I am sorry for any completely obvious errors or
misunderstandings, I am pretty new to this.

Nothing to apologize. I will try a first round .. expect some learning experience;)

I have used and slightly modified the example given on
https://github.com/tavendo/AutobahnPython/tree/master/examples/wamp/serial2ws

That is good! In general, start with an example, assure yourself it works, and only then modify it. That way, you always have a "known good".

Now with the Arduino stuff the limit with this is of course that any example will depend on concrete hardware. Or is there any hardware that is built into every Arduino? If so, we probably should have an example for that.

My code is supposed to send a simple command from a python client to